What is a TEFL qualification equivalent to?

Did you know that there are multiple levels of TEFL certification, including TEFL level 4, TEFL level 5, and TEFL level 6? Just when you thought picking an appropriate TEFL course would be easy, you discover that there are several levels available!

It is crucial to know what each of these TEFL levels means before choosing your TEFL course. This will help you in determining what level is ideal to reach your desired goal and what courses you need to take in order to get the teaching job you are looking for.

What is the difference between TEFL level 4, TEFL level 5, and TEFL level 6?

To begin, keep in mind that TEFL levels are based on the UK qualifications framework. This includes levels 0 through to 8. Check out the graphic below to get a better understanding of what kind of qualification each level corresponds to:

The uniguide

A level 3 TEFL certificate corresponds to the AS and A levels from the United Kingdom. These are tests taken between the ages of 17 and 18 and are required for admission to university.

A foundation degree is an example of a level 5 qualification, while a Master's degree is an example of a level 7 certification based on this framework.

What are the distinctions between the various levels of TEFL certification?

TEFL courses with no level

Proceed with caution if you see a TEFL course that has no level assigned to it. This usually indicates it isn't eligible for the UK framework. These kinds of courses are likely not going to be internationally accredited and might not be accepted by EFL schools and employers around the world.

TEFL level 3 courses

Level 3 TEFL courses involve 60 hours or more of training and are equivalent to an A-Level. They are internationally recognized and are a good entry level qualification for anyone interested in teaching while traveling or volunteering overseas.

However, this level is generally too low for a full-time position in teaching English as a foreign language in a professional setting abroad. Hence, if you want to pursue a more long-term career in teaching, you should take a higher level TEFL course.

TEFL level 4 and level 5 courses

Level 4 TEFL courses require at least 100 hours of study time and are therefore more comprehensive than level 3 TEFL courses. This means teachers with this qualification will be able to pursue a teaching career in schools all around the world. If you are looking for an excellent level 4 online TEFL course, check out our 120-hour course for teaching English abroad and online.

Level 5 TEFL courses require at least 170 hours of study, which means they will be able to cover specialized EFL topics like teaching English to young learners, business English, and teaching English online.

With a level 5 TEFL certification, you can apply for TEFL jobs in more competitive locations, including Asia, Europe, Latin America, and the Middle East. ITTT's 170-hour course in Teaching English as a foreign language with online specialization and the 220-hour Master Package are some of the best level 5 TEFL courses available online.

In addition, a TEFL level 5 qualification is equivalent to a foundation degree and the CELTA. They are, however, often less expensive than either of these!

TEFL level 6 courses

Level 6 TEFL courses require at least 350 hours of study time and are equivalent to the final semester of an undergraduate degree. These courses are ideal for anyone wanting to take on a more leading role in the EFL industry, such as a head teacher at an English language institute or a university teacher abroad.

At ITTT, we offer several TEFL level 6 courses, ranging from 370 hours of training to 550 hours. Browse our level 6 course options here.